Patrick

male - adult
Status: Adopted

Hi, I’m Patrick! I’m a 5-year-old boy who was taken into rescue on St. Patrick’s Day. I came from a pretty horrific situation in Oklahoma. Two days after I got rescued, I went down in the rear and was rushed to the er for an MRI and to have spinal surgery! It was a good thing that my foster mom was experienced with spinal surgery recovery and IVDD . She kept me contained in a small space while I was healing. She did my physical therapy and took me to acupuncture treatments. As I started to feel better, I got to go outside and work on potty training. My favorite thing besides people is rolling around in the grass and doing the belly crawl. A fenced in yard would be amazing for me, but not a deal breaker if you don’t have one. Just keep me on my leash because I’m surprisingly fast!

You wouldn’t believe I came from such a bad situation. My foster mom says I’m such a happy guy and a real lover boy. According to her I am a world class snuggler. I like nothing more than to lay by your side while you’re reading or watching TV. I really, really want to play with other dogs, but because I have IVDD it has to be gentle play with careful supervision. A home with a little older, mellower dog would be best. Since I came in really thin, I sometimes forget that food will always be available to me, so I really don’t like sharing my food, cheweys or toys, and can get pretty riled up if another dog got too interested in my things, so best to give me those in my x-pen. That’s a safe place for me when I need rest, so I don’t overdo things. I’m happy to be in my crate if you go out for a while. I sleep in there too. In the morning I’m up when you’re up, and never make a mess in my crate. During the day I can be in there for up to 5 hours, but no longer please.

Because I like to roll in the grass so much, I do need a medicated bath weekly, so I don’t get itchy, and I really love bath time.Also if I get too itchy- cytapoint shots occasionally help me not be itchy. Probably because I like being so close to my humans. My forever family will also need to commit to my continued rehabilitation. My back legs are still a bit wobbly and need to get stronger. My foster home has hardwood floors so there are a carpet-runners on the walking paths. I’ve ventured onto the hardwood sometimes and I’m getting pretty good at navigating them but still need something less slippery under foot while I’m getting stronger.I should not be allowed to jump on or off furniture ever – because surgery isn’t fun!

I came from a mill situation so I’m still working on potty training. I go outside but sometimes lift my leg in the house. My foster mom will correct me if she catches me. Sometimes when I’m out of my x-pen she puts a belly band on me. I don’t mind it one bit. I’m just a happy-go-lucky guy.

If you feel like we could make that love connection, please apply for me. I will make you so happy you did!

Love, Patrick.

Patrick is up to date with his vaccines, neutered, very recent dental, heartworm negative and current on his heartworm. His adoption fee is $650.

Patrick is hoping someone will apply for him and shower him with love and have experience with IVDD and will be patient as he gains muscles he didn’t have the chance to develop due to living in a mill.